Start Planning
Abolition de l'Esclavage
Mayotte

Abolition de l’Esclavage 2022, 2023 et 2024 en Mayotte

Le 27 avril, on célèbre le Jour de l’Abolition de l’esclavage à Mayotte. Cette journée commémore l’interdiction de l’esclavage sur l’île en 1847, esclavage qui fut aboli un an avant les autres colonies françaises.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202227 avrilmercrediAbolition de l'Esclavage
202327 avriljeudiAbolition de l'Esclavage
202427 avrilsamediAbolition de l'Esclavage
Veuillez faire défiler vers le bas de la page pour les dates des années précédentes.

Fait intéressant, Mayotte connaissait l’esclavage depuis des siècles avant l’arrivée des Européens sur l’île. Dans cet état islamique, l’esclavage était autorisé par la charia, même si les esclaves avaient encore quelques «droits» et étaient considérés comme des êtres humains à part entière. Le Portugal découvrit Mayotte en 1503 mais n’en prit pas le contrôle. Mayotte devint une colonie française en 1841 et c’est à peine six ans plus tard que l’esclavage fut aboli.

Bien qu’il y eût des motifs économiques pour abolir l’esclavage et que le processus ait pris plusieurs mois à finaliser, avril 1847 marque une amélioration importante pour la population de l’île. Les gens ne manquent pas de célébrer cet événement positif important de leur histoire, quelle que soit leur origine ethnique. Mais cette journée revêt une signification particulière pour les descendants des esclaves libérés.

Les années précédentes

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202127 avrilmardiAbolition de l'Esclavage
202027 avrillundiAbolition de l'Esclavage
201927 avrilsamediAbolition de l'Esclavage
201827 avrilvendrediAbolition de l'Esclavage
201727 avriljeudiAbolition de l'Esclavage

Start Planning
Abolition Day
Mayotte

Abolition Day 2021, 2022 and 2023 in Mayotte

Every 27 April is celebrated as Abolition Day in Mayotte. This holiday commemorates the outlawing of slavery on the island of Mayotte in the year 1847. Mayotte saw an end to slavery a year early, since abolition came to the other French colonies only in 1848.

YearDateDayHoliday
202127 AprTueAbolition Day
202227 AprWedAbolition Day
202327 AprThuAbolition Day
202427 AprSatAbolition Day
Please scroll down to end of page for previous years' dates.

Interestingly, Mayotte had had slavery for centuries before Europeans ever stepped foot on the island. It was an Islamic state with slavery permitted under Sharia Law, though slaves still had some “rights” and were considered fully human. Portugal discovered Mayotte in 1503 but did not take control. Mayotte became a French colony in 1841, and only six years later, slavery was abolished on the island.

Although there were economic motives for abolishing slavery in Mayotte and the process took several months to complete, April of 1847 marks a major turn for the better for the island’s population. People are quick to celebrate this major positive event in their history, regardless of their ethnic descent. But it holds special meaning for the descendants of the freed slaves.

Previous Years

YearDateDayHoliday
202027 AprMonAbolition Day
201927 AprSatAbolition Day
201827 AprFriAbolition Day
201727 AprThuAbolition Day