Start Planning
Ascension
Sénégal

Ascension 2023, 2024 et 2025 en Sénégal

L’Ascension est un jour férié au Sénégal qui commémore l’ascension de Jésus Christ au Ciel comme le dit la Bible. On l’observe le 40e jour de Pâques, 39 jours après le dimanche de Pâques, et c’est toujours un jeudi.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202318 maijeudiAscension
20249 maijeudiAscension
202529 maijeudiAscension
202614 maijeudiAscension
Veuillez faire défiler vers le bas de la page pour les dates des années précédentes.

L’Ascension fait partie des nombreuses fêtes chrétiennes célébrées officiellement au Sénégal bien que le pays soit musulman à 95 pourcent. Cette situation plutôt curieuse résulte du fait que le Sénégal a été autrefois une colonie française.

Le quarantième jour après Pâques, qui varie d’une année à l’autre mais tombe normalement en mai, les gens prennent congé le jeudi de l’Ascension. Nombreux sont les musulmans qui commémorent ce jour-là aussi, tout comme les chrétiens sénégalais célèbrent les fêtes islamiques. Malgré des croyances différentes, les deux groupes s’invitent mutuellement pour souper ou font livrer des plats spéciaux à leurs voisins.

De nombreux chrétiens vont à une messe spéciale lors de l’Ascension puis assistent à des événements publics ou familiaux le reste de la journée.

Les années précédentes

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202226 maijeudiAscension
202113 maijeudiAscension
202021 maijeudiAscension
201930 maijeudiAscension
201810 maijeudiAscension
201725 maijeudiAscension

Start Planning
Ascension Day
Senegal

Ascension Day 2020 and 2021 in Senegal

Ascension Day is a holiday in Senegal to commemorate Jesus Christ’s ascension to heaven as recorded in the Bible. It is observed on the fortieth day of Easter – 39 days after Easter Sunday – and always fall on a Thursday.

YearDateDayHoliday
202021 MayThuAscension Day
202113 MayThuAscension Day

Ascension Day is among many Christian holidays officially celebrated in Senegal despite the fact that the country is 95 percent Muslim. This curious situation is a result of the fact that Senegal was once a French colonial possession.

On the fortieth day after Easter, which varies year to year but normally occurs sometime in May, the people take off Ascension Thursday. Many Muslims will observe the holiday as well, just as Christians in Senegal celebrate Muslim holidays. Despite differing beliefs, both groups may invite each other over for dinner or send special foods to be delivered to the door of their neighbours.

Many Christians will attend a special church event on Ascension Day and then head out to public or family events for the rest of the day.