Start Planning
L'Aïd al-Fitr
Sénégal

L’Aïd al-Fitr 2020, 2021 et 2022 en Sénégal

L’Aïd al-Fitr est un jour férié national au Sénégal, où plus de quatre-vingt-dix (90) % de la population est musulmane. Comme dans d’autres pays musulmans, le premier jour après la fin du Ramadan est une période de fête et de célébration, et les festivités se poursuivent pendant deux autres jours par la suite.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202024 maidimancheL'Aïd al-Fitr
202113 maijeudiL'Aïd al-Fitr
20222 mailundiL'Aïd al-Fitr

Les hommes se rendent généralement à la mosquée pour prier tôt le matin, tandis que les femmes restent à la maison pour faire du “ngalakh”, un plat traditionnel à base de mil avec des raisins secs, du beurre d’arachide, du chocolat, de la noix de coco, etc.

Tout le monde va socialiser et grignoter sur le ngalakh juste après le retour de la mosquée. Et puis un diner suivra, peut-être d’une soupe vermicelle à l’oignon aromatisée au mouton. Plus tard encore, du thé ou du jus peut être servi. C’est en effet un jour de fête, même si le Ramadan était un mois de jeûne !

D’autres traditions de l’Aïd al-Fitr au Sénégal comprennent l’enfilage des meilleurs vêtements et les visites aux amis et voisins pour leur souhaiter un joyeux Aïd.

Start Planning
Eid al-Fitr
Senegal

Eid al-Fitr 2019 and 2020

Eid al-Fitr is a national public holiday in Senegal where over 90 percent of the population is Muslim. As in other Muslim-majority , the first day after Ramadan ends is a time of feasting and celebration, and the festivities continue for two more days thereafter.

YearDateDayHoliday
20194 JunTueEid al-Fitr
202024 MaySunEid al-Fitr

The men typically head off to the mosque for prayer early in the morning in Senegal, while the women stay home to make “ngalakh”, a traditional millet dish with raisins, peanut butter, chocolate, coconut, and more mixed in.

Everyone will socialise and munch on ngalakh just after returning from the mosque. And then a lunch will follow, perhaps of vermicelli-onion soup flavoured with mutton. Still later, tea or juice may be served. This is indeed a day of feasting, even as Ramadan was a month of fasting!

Other Eid al-Fitr traditions in Senegal include donning your very best set of clothes and making the rounds to friends and neighbours to wish them a blessed Eid.

Accept