Start Planning
South Sudan

South Sudan Public Holidays 2017

Today – 18 December 2017 – is not a holiday in South Sudan.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for South Sudan. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
10 MarFriNational Prayer Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatEaster Saturday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
16 MayTueSPLA Day
25 JunSunEid al-Fitr
9 JulSunIndependence Day
30 JulSunMartyrs' Day
1 SepFriEid al-Adha
24 DecSunChristmas Eve
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueChristmas Holiday

South Sudan currently celebrates nine national holidays. Two of these holidays are celebrated over several days.

The Labour Laws of South Sudan require employers to provide a day off for all nationally recognised holidays. All holidays are classified as non-working days, but are not guaranteed as paid days off. It is believed that at this time employees only receive payment for national holidays if it is part of their employment contract.

Some of the holidays celebrated in South Sudan change in date each year. These religious holidays are calculated on the lunar cycle. The government of South Sudan, through its Labour Ministry, issues a list of the official dates for national holidays at the end of each year for the next year. Businesses are required to acknowledge these celebration dates.

South Sudan provides two extra public holidays to those who practice the Muslim faith. Each of these days are a second day of celebration for current public holidays. Only active members of the Muslim community are entitled to these extra holidays.

Muslim holidays that use the moon to determine their celebration dates use the Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia. Christian holidays that use the lunar cycle to determine celebration times use the Gregorian calendar to determine dates.