Start Planning
Pâques
Burkina Faso

Pâques 2020, 2021 et 2022 en Burkina Faso

La saison de Pâques est une période importante au Burkina Faso, et généralement, un jour férié marque le lundi de Pâques, c’est à dire le lendemain du jour de Pâques (dimanche).

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202013 avrillundiLundi de Pâques
20215 avrillundiLundi de Pâques
202218 avrillundiLundi de Pâques

Au Burkina Faso, il existe plus de soixante (60) groupes ethniques et à peu près autant de langues dans un pays relativement petit. Et il y a aussi une grande diversité religieuse, beaucoup d’entre eux étant musulmans, chrétiens ou même animistes. Et il y a un grand nombre de catholiques et de protestants dans la communauté chrétienne.

Pendant les périodes de Pâques et de Noël, les musulmans et d’autres non-chrétiens participeront souvent aux festivités. Inversement, les chrétiens seront invités à assister aux grandes fêtes musulmanes. Cela s’explique en grande partie par le fait que de nombreuses familles burkinabè sont multi religieuses.

Les chrétiens commencent à célébrer le Jeudi Saint, le jour de la Dernière Cène, quand Jésus a lavé les pieds de ses disciples. Ils observeront le Vendredi Saint, jour de la mort du Christ, et parfois aussi une messe de minuit le Samedi Saint. Mais presque tous les chrétiens assistent aux offices de Pâques le dimanche.

Après les offices religieux, les gens rentrent chez eux pour prendre de grands repas en famille et entre amis. Ils passent aussi une grande partie de la semaine de Pâques à visiter des gens qu’ils n’ont peut-être pas vus depuis un certain temps.

Start Planning
Easter
Burkina Faso

Easter 2021, 2022 and 2023 in Burkina Faso

The Easter season is a significant time in Burkina Faso, and a public holiday marks Easter Monday, the day after Easter Day (Sunday), each year.

YearDateDayHoliday
20215 AprMonEaster Monday
202218 AprMonEaster Monday
202310 AprMonEaster Monday
20241 AprMonEaster Monday
Please scroll down to end of page for previous years' dates.

In Burkina Faso, there are over 60 ethnic groups and about as many languages in a relatively small country. And there is great religious diversity as well, with many being Muslim, Christian, or even Animist. And there are large numbers of both Catholics and Protestants among the Christian community.

During Easter, as well as Christmas, Muslims and other non-Christians will often take part in the festivities. And conversely, Christians will be invited to and attend major Muslim feast days. This is largely because many families in Burkina Faso are multi-religious.

Christians begin celebrating on Maundy Thursday, the day of the Last Supper, when Jesus washed His disciples’ feet. They will observe Good Friday, the day on which Christ died, and sometimes a midnight mass on Holy Saturday as well. But almost every Christian attends Easter Day services on Sunday.

Following church services, people head home to enjoy large meals with family and friends. They also spend much of Easter Week visiting people they may not have seen for some time.

Previous Years

YearDateDayHoliday
202013 AprMonEaster Monday
201922 AprMonEaster Monday
20182 AprMonEaster Monday
201717 AprMonEaster Monday