Start Planning
Ascension
Cameroun

Ascension 2022, 2023 et 2024 en Cameroun

L’Ascension est un jour férié au Cameroun qui commémore l’ascension de Jésus Christ au Ciel comme le dit la Bible. On l’observe le 40e jour de Pâques, 39 jours après le dimanche de Pâques, et c’est toujours un jeudi.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202226 maijeudiAscension
202318 maijeudiAscension
20249 maijeudiAscension
Veuillez faire défiler vers le bas de la page pour les dates des années précédentes.

Le jour de l’Ascension, on éteint finalement le grand cierge blanc de Pâques qui, chaque année, est allumé le dimanche de Pâques et qui brûle jusqu’à l’Ascension. On l’utilise aussi lors d’occasions spéciales comme les baptêmes, à d’autres moments de l’année, et tous les ans, c’est un nouveau cierge qui est utilisé pour Pâques.

La plupart des catholiques et des anglicans célèbrent l’Ascension et ces deux groupes sont largement représentés au Cameroun. Cette journée est fêtée depuis au moins l’an 385 de l’ère chrétienne tandis que d’autres parlent de l’an 68. Souvent, il y a des processions religieuses avec flambeaux et bannières à l’Ascension et certains apportent des produits pour les faire bénir par les prêtres lors de la messe.

Bien des banques, des commerces et des écoles sont fermés à l’Ascension et beaucoup de gens se reposent chez eux ou prennent le temps de faire des magasins ou de s’amuser.

Les années précédentes

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202113 maijeudiAscension
202021 maijeudiAscension
201930 maijeudiAscension
201810 maijeudiAscension
201725 maijeudiAscension

Start Planning
Ascension Day
Cameroon

Ascension Day 2020 and 2021 in Cameroon

Ascension Day is a holiday in Cameroon to commemorate Jesus Christ’s ascension to heaven as recorded in the Bible. It is observed on the fortieth day of Easter – 39 days after Easter Sunday – and always fall on a Thursday.

YearDateDayHoliday
202021 MayThuAscension Day
202113 MayThuAscension Day

On Ascension Day, the Paschal candle is finally put out. This large, white candle is lit on Easter Sunday and burns until Ascension Day each year. It is also used on special occasions, like baptisms, at other times throughout the year, and a new candle is first used each year at Easter.

Mostly Roman Catholics and Anglican believers celebrate Ascension Day, and there are large numbers of both groups in Cameroon. This holiday has been observed at least since A.D. 385 in Western Christianity, and some say since A.D. 68. There are often church processions with torches and banners on Ascension Day, and some bring produce to mass to be blessed by priests.

Many banks, businesses, and schools will close down for Ascension Day, and many people will relax at home or take time to shop or enjoy other forms of entertainment.