Start Planning
Democratic Republic of the Congo

DRC Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Democratic Republic of the Congo and start planning to make the most of your time off.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (D.R.C.) has eight national holidays each year. Some of these holidays are two and three day celebrations. The length of the holiday celebration is announced by the Ministry of Labor at the end of each year for the following year.

Officially, the holidays in D.R.C. are regulated by Ordinance 71-236 officiated on December 31, 1972. However, this Ordinance has been changed several times over the last few decades. The Democratic Republic of the Congo has undergone many regime changes, including a change in name (previously Zaire) since this official document was released. The current government releases the information for public holidays through their Ministry of Labor. It is published in the Official Journal.

Employers, at this time, are required to pay holiday pay on nationally recognised holidays and provide a day off. However, it should be noted that this is for only one day of any multi-day celebration. Employers are cautioned i n this area that new or one-time holidays do occur in this area often and usually with only a day or two of notice. Employers must acknowledge national holidays, even when they are given on such short notice. These notices are always made by the Ministry of Labor.

Previous Years