Start Planning

Ethiopia Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Ethiopia and start planning to make the most of your time off.

The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia currently celebrates 13 national holidays each year. A majority of the holidays celebrated in Ethiopia are based on religious beliefs. Many of these holidays occur on different dates each year because they are calculated using the lunar cycle of different calendars.

All national holidays are regulated under Proclamation 29 issue in 1996. This proclamation eliminates all previous proclamations made under the various governments that have ruled Ethiopia in recent history. This proclamation established the current 13 holidays and eliminated one that was celebrated under the prior regime.

The Labour Laws of Ethiopia guarantee that all workers have a paid day off on national holidays. This applies to all payment schemes, including those who are paid on a monthly basis. Section 4, Chapter 3 of the Labour Laws of Ethiopia guarantee that anyone who is required to work on a national holiday due to the type of work they perform are guaranteed to receive payment at twice their actual rate for all hours worked.

Previous Years