Start Planning

Gabon Public Holidays 2017

Today – 18 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Gabon.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Gabon. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
17 AprMonWomen's Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
5 JunMonWhit Monday
25 JunSunEid al-Fitr
15 AugTueAssumption Day
16 AugWedNational Day
17 AugThuNational Day
1 SepFriEid al-Adha
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day

The Gabonese Republic, or Gabon, currently celebrates 12 national holidays. Many of these holidays are based on religious beliefs and may occur at different times each year. Each year the government of Gabon, through its Ministry of Labour, releases the official dates for the national holidays to be celebrated for the following year.

Public holidays are regulated by Decree number 000484/PR/MTE Issued 26 May, 2004. This Decree eliminates all previous decrees regarding public holidays in Gabon. This Decree establishes the 12 national holidays and states that these are all non-working holidays. It also provides the government with the ability to create additional one-time national non-working holidays for special occasions.

The Labor Laws of Gabon state that all employees are guaranteed a day off for national holidays. If the scope of their work requires them to work on those days, they are guaranteed a day off in lieu of the holiday.