Start Planning

Malawi Public Holidays 2017

Today – 18 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Malawi.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Malawi. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
15 JanSunJohn Chilembwe Day
16 JanMonJohn Chilembwe Day Holiday
3 MarFriMartyrs' Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
14 MaySunPresident Kamuzu Banda's Birthday
15 MayMonPresident Kamuzu Banda's Birthday Holiday
25 JunSunEid al-Fitr
26 JunMonEid al-Fitr Holiday
6 JulThuIndependence Day
15 OctSunMother's Day
16 OctMonMother's Day Holiday
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

The Republic of Malawi currently celebrates 13 national holidays. National holidays in Malawi are regulated by the Employment Act of 1999 and the Public Holidays Order of 1986.

Under these laws, all employees are entitled to a paid day off for all national holidays. Employees who must work on a public holiday based on the type of job they perform are entitled to receive a different paid day off in lieu of the holiday under these laws.

The national holiday laws provide the government of Malawi with the ability to establish additional one-time holidays based on current events during the year. It is not uncommon for the government to declare a national holiday for such events as national elections. The government has also been given the authority to “bridge” holidays to the following Monday if the holiday occurs on a Sunday.

Most viewed Malawi holidays today: